The Tale Of Two Milkfish At Matukad Island – Caramoan

The Tale Of Two Milkfish At Matukad Island – Caramoan

Clifford At Matuklad Island

Before going into island hopping at caramoan, I often hear someone especially boatmen telling this story of two milk fish at a certain island which is quite intriguing. Good for me because I can still understand at least 80% of what they’re saying (I grew in Bonbon,Libon,Albay and left when I was twelve) and somehow I can still speak  but not as fluent as before.

As our boatmen, Manuy Randy (manuy/manoy is a bikol dialect which means kuya or big /older brother) prepares his boat. My friend asked about a recent incident of certain boatmen who died. Many Randy then relayed of that boatman’s fate after eating a milkfish. This boatman apparently took one of the two milk fish at matukad island and fed it to his family. But for some reason the boatman died. He goes on to say that no one knows why he died and why he’s the only one since his family is doing fine (imagine Manuy Randy telling this with terror in his voice) but no one dares to catch another one after which.

It came to my knowledge that there is this lake at matukad island where milk fish are. No one dares to catch it since it’s a common belief in the area of its mythical guardian or something like it till that boatman caught one. They say as well that they rarely show to humans and it’s a privileged or blessed rather to see them.

Matukad Lake - Caramoan

Oh boy, I can’t wait to see the area and check it for myself. I’m really excited to go there!

Finally, after docking at several islands we finally docked at Matukad Island. After walking around the area we finally decided to go to the  said lake. After several meters of stiff climbing, I finally saw the beautifull lake. Huurraaayyyy! I’m at the top of the island. Great view! Then I saw one big milk fish (probably as big as my calf about two feet long) and several small milkfish. Unfortunately my cam is drained (have been shooting at prior islands) and so I used my phone to shoot one but it isn’t that clear. But boy, the milk fish is quite big and going there is quite a challenge. I wouldn’t advice it for girls unless “cowboy”.

I tell you. It’s really rewarding to climb and be on there!

Watch my videos below on how I was able to get there. If ain’t working for some reason, please click the phrase underneath.

How To Go To The Lake At Matukad Island

Related articles

7 thoughts on “The Tale Of Two Milkfish At Matukad Island – Caramoan”

  1. sir kakapunta ko lang nung oct 1 dalawa na ulit yung bangus pero ang mysterious ilang beses ko pinicturan at na video wala yung 2 bangus sa video kinilabutan ako

Leave a Reply

