Solemn New Star!

Solemn New Star – The True Spirit Of Christmas!

Front From Left Nene, Niknik, Me & Kuya Jojo
Back From Left Nanay, Tita Marissa & Ate Janet

One of my childhood memory was when we were asked by Nanay and Papa (we used to call them that way) to go out and roam round and feel Christmas Season. We eagerly agreed as we’re anticipating for this much awaited season. Before leaving, we were asked what our wish is and we did tell it excitedly. I think my sister asked for something but Nanay answered better to have umbrella instead which my sister gladly agreed.  Then we were asked to hang our socks at the door so that Santa may place the gifts/wish we want to have. After all is set and done, I thought why Papa wouldn’t come. I wonder! Hmmmm.

Anyway, we head on at the tinampu (Bikol term which means road) and enjoyed the ambiance of Christmas. After an hour or two, we went back home and much to our surprise; we saw our socks filled with stuff. All wish have been granted and yes my sister got an umbrella!  Everyone is so happy even our parents.

I can’t recall my age at that time but I have this idea who may have done it. Not really Santa I thought, it’s Papa! Hehehehe.

I’m sure you’re also for this season. But as I grew older I came to a conclusion that the idea or practices I was taught of about Christmas is way wrong.

Let me ask you this. What idea pops in your mind when we talk about Christmas? Majority would say gifts like toys, dress, shoes etc. Others may say foods like ham and spaghetti (as always) and so on and so forth. Some thought of fireworks and lanterns. Guess what? I thought of that too! Few would answer principles like forgiving, understanding, patience, long suffering and loving or talk about the Birth Of Our Savior. Some may think of our Saviors’ Birth but celebrate it in a different way.

My wife (Verna), Isle & me

Long ago, it was prophesied that A NEW STAR will appear as a sign of The Lords Birth. Scientifically speaking, this phenomenon in the universe must have been so tumultuous yet peaceful here on Earth. The Son Of God was born in a lowly mange though a KING up on high. His birth is much awaited by the believers from East to West. Grand symbolically yet manifested humbly and peacefully. Solemn if you may. But the world often celebrates (ironically some don’t) in the most nosiest and extravagant way.

My plea is to relive that spirit of solemnity as it was. Create gifts from the heart than from the pocket. Eat the bread of life and feast upon HIS words where blessings are eternal than eat and drink for that which is temporal. Small act of kindness, service and of giving and loving will surely glow in your eyes far beautiful than lanterns or fireworks can make. Because Christmas is solemn and Christmas is love.

As you participate with these activities you will feel greater love for others radiating The True Spirit Of Christmas. Thus following a wise counsel “Be in the world but not of the world”.

Let’s be peaceful and practice solemnity as we celebrate Our Masters Birth! Have A Merry Christmas And A Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Solemn New Star!”

    1. Thank you for the comment lakadko! I appreciate it.

      Life is still simple then and now. It’s the people within this so called life that makes it too complex and complicated to the point that some can’t find peace nor happiness when it’s can be seen and felt anywhere and everywhere.

Leave a Reply

